Permissions

What are Permissions?


Permissions is the section of the dashboard where admins will be able to set the view and edit rights at the app level for users within the organization. There are three sub-sections within permissions, also known as RBAC or Role Based Access Control: Roles, People, and Applications.

  • Roles
    • Allows admins to view the 4 out-of-the-box permission settings: Admin, Publisher, Reader, Writer.
    • Allows admins to “Add New Role,” which will will create a role with custom view/edit rights to Admin-specified sections of the dashboard.
  • People
    • Lists users in the organization.
    • Allows admins to assign new roles to users.
    • Allows admins to edit application access per user
    • Allows admins to invite new users to or delete users from the organization
  • Applications
    • Lists all applications in the portfolio.
    • Allows admins to edit users access rights per application.

How to Add and View a Role


Roles

There are 4 standard roles that Upsight provides out-of-the-box: Admin, Publisher, Reader, and Writer. Each role has it’s own set of permissions to view and edit different sections of the dashboard.

  • Admins: Users with this role will have the full access to all actions on the dashboard. Admins can create/edit/delete custom dashboards, create/launch marketing campaigns, and add/remove apps from the account. Only Admins can add/delete users.
  • Publisher: Users with this role will be able to access features, such as push, user segments, and custom attributes, but they cannot manage custom dashboards, DataMine queries, analytics and marketing metrics, bundles, or marketing campaigns. Publishers can also add/edit new apps to the portfolio.
  • Reader: Users with this role will be able to view but not edit custom dashboards, Datamine queries, custom dimensions, push messages, campaigns, and A/B tests.
  • Writer: Users with this role will have access to most features except for analytics/marketing metrics, push notifications, portfolio DataMine queries, portfolio custom dashboards, A/B Testing, and bundles.

Add a New Role (Creating Custom Roles)

This feature allows Admins to create roles that are meant for specific users in their organization. Admins are able to limit certain features while allowing access to others. No other roles are able to create new roles.

  1. Log into your dashboard and navigate to SETTINGS > PERMISSIONS.
  2. You will default to the People subsection of Permissions.
  3. Click on ROLES.
  4. Click on ADD NEW ROLE in the upper right hand corner.
  5. Enter a descriptive name for the new role.
  6. Select the features that you would like to allow this new role to access.
  7. Click SAVE CHANGES when complete.

Note You will be able to edit this new role in the future if changes need to be made.

View Roles

  1. Log into your dashboard and navigate to SETTINGS > PERMISSIONS.
  2. You will default to the People subsection of Permissions.
  3. Click on ROLES.
  4. Hover over any of the roles listed, the option to view will appear.
  5. Click on VIEW to see the access rights for that specific role.

Use Cases

Junior Staff Members - Allow staff members to manage marketing content units but not view sensitive analytics/marketing metrics or edit/add applications.

Data Analysts - Allow analysts to create DataMine queries and export analytics/marketing metrics, but do not allow them to view Revenue/IAP data, access to marketing campaigns, or access to marketing content units.

App Specific Admins - Allow Admin rights to certain users on an app by app basis by creating a custom Admin role and limiting Application Access for users of this role.

How to Manage Users


People

The people subsection allows Admins to manage the organization’s users: add new users, delete new users, change a user’s role, and edit a user’s application access.

Invite Users

  1. Log into your dashboard and navigate to SETTINGS > PERMISSIONS.
  2. Click on INVITE USERS which is right of Pending Invitations, located below all of the Organization Users.
  3. Select the role for this new user.
  4. Enter the new user’s email.
  5. Click SAVE CHANGES when complete.

Note You can enter more than one email at a time if you enter them in comma separated format. However, all invited users of the same invite will be of the same role.

Delete Users

  1. Log into your dashboard and navigate to SETTINGS > PERMISSIONS.
  2. Click the “X” mark on the farthest right hand side of the user’s name who you wish to remove from your organization’s account.
  3. Select YES when asked if you would like to remove this user.

Note You have the option to remove an existing user from the organization’s account or to revoke a pending invitation to a potential new user.

Change a User’s Role

  1. Log into your dashboard and navigate to SETTINGS > PERMISSIONS.
  2. Find the existing user, under the Organization Users section, whose role you wish to edit.
  3. Hover to the roles column of that user, roles are located on the right hand side of the user’s name.
  4. Click on the drop-down menu .
  5. Select the appropriate role for the existing user.

Note The new role assigned to the existing user will auto-save once selected.

Edit a User’s Application Access

  1. Log into your dashboard and navigate to SETTINGS > PERMISSIONS.
  2. Find the existing user, under the Organization Users section, whose application access you wish to edit
  3. Click on EDIT, edit appears in the Application Access column when the user’s name is highlighted.
  4. Select or Remove the applications that this user should have access to.
  5. Click SAVE CHANGES when done.

Note Admins can only edit Application Access for non-Admin users. Admins have access to all applications by default.

How to Limit Access by Application


Applications

The Applications subsection allows Admins and certain custom roles to edit the user access on an app by app basis.

Limiting User Access per App

  1. Log into your dashboard and navigate to SETTINGS > PERMISSIONS.
  2. Hover over the name of the application you wish to limit user access and click on EDIT.
  3. Select or remove users from being able to view/edit the application.
  4. The FILTER ROLES option allows for a quick filter of users based on their specific roles.
  5. Click SAVE CHANGES when done

Note You can only remove users with non-Admin roles from applications.

Note Removing users from an application will prevent users from being able to view/edit analytics, marketing campaigns, or any Upsight dashboard feature for that application.

Use Case

App specific Developers - If you have multiple development studios working on various apps for your portfolio, allow each development studio to view or edit only the apps they are working on. This will streamline their dashboards and remove sensitive business information from their visibility.